Vegetarian’s Survival Guide to Japan: Some False Friends and 10 Good Options

**This blog will be deleted by December, 2020.

Please save the new location for this post for future reference: https://shenchingtou.github.io/maps/vegan-vegetarian-tokyo/**

For those vegan and vegetarian friends travelling in Japan, is a tricky place! There are many restaurants with vegetable options on the menu. However, contrary to popular opinion, many vegetable options in restaurants use fish ingredients in the process of cooking, the sauce, or garnishing.

I am leaving the photos here for your reference as they will not go into the new blog.

p_20160211_134034.jpg
Vegetarian-looking food with meat. It has おぼろ oboro (minced meat).

Vocabulary

To Avoid

If you are shopping at the supermarket or ordering, avoid words with the fish character (魚), such as 鮪、鰹節、鯖、鯵. 

p_20160211_133823.jpg
These are 3 examples of vegetarian friendly rice balls, onigiri, at a convenience store.

Vegetarian Foods

1. Rice balls (おにぎり onigiri)* Select ones

2. Green Soy Beans 枝豆 Edamame 

3. Soy Milk

4. Traditional Japanese Sweets

5. Tempura (veggies) 野菜天ぷら yasai tempura

DSC_1992
Squash and green bean tempura.

6. Tofu 豆腐

Owner
Tofu set meal at Okutan in Kyoto


7. Sauteed and Simmered Veggies きんぴら Kinpira

8. Pickles 漬物 tsukemono

9. Skewers 串物 Kushimono 

10. Daikon Dishes 大根 Daikon

 *Note: Some fast food chains have vegetarian options. The chain Mos Burger may have a kinpira rice burger on the menu that is vegetarian.

Athena Lam

A content marketing strategist and consultant. Passionate about storytelling for great teams and products. Co-founder of Business 3.0 (https://b3p0.org), LGBTQGlassdoor.com. Personal blog at https://thecupandtheroad.com.

5 thoughts on “Vegetarian’s Survival Guide to Japan: Some False Friends and 10 Good Options

  1. This is incredibly helpful. Thank you. We are going in a few weeks and I am looking for a phrase I can write out in Japanese to explain the restaurants / shop assistants that we can’t eat fish flakes, chicken / fish stock, meat, fish, etc etc. Do you know where I could find this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jodie,
      I’m glad to hear this is helpful!

      You won’t need to specify all that because the way Japanese stock is prepared, all stock is prepared with meat or fish unless it is explicitly stated as vegetarian. You are better off memorizing the words 野菜 (vegetables) or 素 (vegetarian).

      The simpler way to say it, for example, is to say: 出汁を食べない。
      That you don’t eat dashi stock.
      For the same reason, I also suggest you just keep to the sentence that you are vegetarian.

      私はベジタリアンです。
      Watashi wa bejitarian desu.
      I am vegetarian.

      野菜だけ食べます。
      Yasai dake tabemasu.
      I only eat vegetables.

      [Insert food]を食べられない。
      [insert food] wo taberarenai.
      I cannot eat [insert food]

      Like

Leave a Reply to jodes82 Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s